Notification

Coming Soon...

OK

Continue
X

Something went wrong!
Please try again later.

EXPAND Cross icon

EXPANDING


Loader

Lahiri’s dream ends with disqualification at the President’s Cup

PGA
image
Posted by Admin 01 Oct 2017

India’s ace Golfer Anirban Lahiri could not cap off his dream run at the President’s Cup after he was disqualified for a hole at 2017 Presidents Cup over practice bunker shot.

 

The 30-year-old Golfer was disqualified for one hole of the 2017 Presidents Cup after it dawned on officials that the India native had broken the Rules of Golf on the prior hole.

 

Anirban Lahiri, Golf courses in India, Golf courses, Golf in India

                              

                                                        Anirban Lahiri's woes in the Golfing circuit continues

 

 

Lahiri hit a practice bunker shot on the second hole at Liberty National Golf Club, which is a violation of Rule 7-2 of the Rules of Golf, which dictates when players can hit practice strokes during a round.

 

Players can practice between the play of two holes in three places:

 

a) the putting green of the hole last played,

b) any practice putting green, or

c) the teeing ground of the next hole to be played in the round, provided a practice stroke is not made from a hazard and does not unduly delay play

 

In other words, Lahiri practicing from a bunker is against the Rules of Golf. The penalty in match play is loss of hole, or, in Lahiri's case, it's disqualification from the next hole played. In stroke play, the penalty is two strokes.

 

So, Lahiri couldn't help out Charl Schwartzel in the fourballs match on the third hole. However, Schwartzel made par and the Internationals tied Charley Hoffman and Kevin Chappell to remain 2 Down through three holes in the match.            

Hours
Minute
Second
Rolex
#

WANT TO GET STARTED?

Sponsored Links

Advertisement